About Bord Gáis

The Board

Bord Gáis Éireann is a corporate body established under the Gas Act 1976.

The Board of Bord Gáis Éireann consists of the Chief Executive and six non-executive members (including the Chairman), who are appointed by the Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources.

The Management Team, headed up by the Chief Executive, is responsible for the day to day management of the company.

Board Profiles

Profiles of the current members of the Board are set out below.

Rose Hynes

Rose Hynes, Chairman

Rose Hynes was appointed to the Board in June 2006 and was appointed Chairman in July 2009 and re-appointed Chairman in July 2014. Ms. Hynes chairs the Remuneration Committee and is also a member of the Investment/Infrastructure Committee. She was appointed Chairman of the Irish Water Board in July 2013. Ms. Hynes, a lawyer, is Chairman of Shannon Airport Authority plc since December 2012. She is also a director of Total Produce plc, where she is the Senior Independent Director, Chairman of its Remuneration Committee and a member of its Audit and Nomination Committees. She is also a director of One Fifty One plc where she is its Senior Independent Director. Ms. Hynes previously held a number of senior executive positions with GPA Group plc and is a former board member of a number of companies including Fyffes plc, Aer Lingus Group plc and Concern.

Michael McNicholas

Michael McNicholas, CEO

Michael was appointed CEO of Bord Gáis in May 2013 and is a member of the Investment/Infrastructure Committee. He was appointed to the Irish Water Board in July 2013. Prior to joining Bord Gáis Michael held the positions of CEO and Chief Operating Officer during his time at NTR plc, providing broad operational leadership across the Group’s businesses. Prior to joining NTR plc in February 2010, Michael worked with ESB for twenty six years. He was an Executive Director for 10 years and held a range of executive responsibilities including Executive Director ESB International, ESB Generation and ESB Supply. Michael has over thirty years experience in the Irish and International energy industry where he has held senior positions with responsibility for general management, delivery of major capital projects, funding, international investments, managing regulatory environments and competing in open energy markets. Michael has a Degree in Engineering from University College Galway. He is a Chartered Member of Engineers Ireland and has completed the Advanced Management Programme at Harvard University.

Laurance Crowley

Laurence Crowley

Laurence Crowley was appointed to the Board in August 2009 and was re-appointed to the Board in August 2014. Mr. Crowley is the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director. He is Chairman of the Audit and Finance Committee and the Risk Committee and is a member of the Remuneration Committee. He is Chairman of Ecocem Materials, Realex Payments, the Middletown Centre for Autism and the Economic and Social Research Institute. He is a member of the board of Aer Lingus Group plc, O’Flaherty Holdings and the Gate Theatre. Mr. Crowley previously served as a director and subsequently Governor of Bank of Ireland, as Executive Chairman of the Michael Smurfit Graduate Business School at University College Dublin and as a director of Rothmans International plc and Elan Corporation plc.

Joe O Flynn

Joe O'Flynn

Joe O’Flynn, General Secretary of SIPTU, was appointed to the Board in November 2008 and subsequently reappointed in November 2013, and is the ESOP nominated Board Member. Mr. O’ Flynn is Chairperson of the Investment/Infrastructure Committee a member of the Audit and Finance Committee and the Risk Committee. He is a former Lord Mayor of Cork and former City Councillor and is also a director of three SIPTU affiliated bodies - the Institute for the Development of Employment Advancement Services, the Irish Trade Union Trust and the Larcon Centre- the controlling body for the Liberty Hall Centre for Performing Arts. He is also Treasurer of Irish Congress of Trade Unions and a member of its Executive Council.

Finbarr Kennelly

Finbarr Kennelly

Finbarr Kennelly was appointed to the Board in December 2012. Mr. Kennelly is a member of the Investment/Infrastructure Committee, the Audit and Finance Committee and the Risk Committee. He is currently Finance and Operations Director of Golf Vacations Ireland. Previously he held senior positions with the Gardiner Group, distributors of hardware, hand and power tools. Prior to that Mr. Kennelly served as Financial Controller of telecoms company Alcatel Business Systems Ireland. He is a former board member of The Housing Finance Agency plc and also served as a mentor with Plato Ireland, the support networks for SME’s. He holds a B. Comm degree and is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants.


Mari Hurley

Mari Hurley was appointed to the Board in June 2013 and is a member of the Audit and Finance Committee, the Risk Committee and the Remuneration Committee. Ms. Hurley was appointed to the Board of NAMA in April 2014. She is the Chief Financial Officer of Web Reservations International. She was previously Finance Director of Sherry FitzGerald Group and also worked at Bear Stearns Bank plc. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland having trained and qualified in Arthur Andersen. Ms. Hurley has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from University College Cork.

jaqueline hall

Jacqueline Hall

Jacqueline Hall was appointed to the Board in August 2014 and was appointed to the Irish Water Board in November 2013. Ms. Hall is the Principal of Partners in Communication, a business consultancy specialising in public affairs and stakeholder communications. For over 20 years, she has worked on behalf of clients in the energy, retail, food, ITC, biotech, media and not for profit sectors. Ms. Hall was conferred with a BA in History and History of Art from University College Dublin, a Graduateship in Marketing by the Marketing Institute of Ireland and  a Graduate Diploma in Corporate Governance at the Michael Smurfit Business School. From 1986 to 1996 she worked in a variety of roles for The Rehab Group, including Business Development Manager and Recycling Development Manager.

Ms. Hall was an elected member of the Council of the Dublin Chamber Commerce from 2000 to 2012, and has chaired their Communications Committee and also participated in a number of working groups, including The Knowledge Economy, Economic Development, Corporate Governance Review Task Force and the 2020 Vision Working Group. She was elected a fellow of the Public Relations Institute of Ireland (PRII) in 2008, is a member of the council of the PRII and is currently Vice-President of the PRII.

Back to top

Safety Advice: Click here for information If you smell gas call our 24hr emergency line 1850 20 50 50